Transparency at goclimateaction

Transparency is the key to the credibility of CO2-compensation. Of course, we offer full transparency on all important issues relating to your climate neutrality:

  1. We advise you to avoid emissions in everyday life as a first step before you take the step of CO2-compensation. Offsetting your emissions is only the second best solution for climate action - avoiding and reducing greenhouse gases are indispensable and should always precede the offsetting. You will find out how to avoid and reduce emissions here.
  2. You get all information on the climate protection projects you support for your CO2-compensation. This includes i.a. information on the projects' quality standard, access to the detailed project description (Project Design Document) and the annual verification reports of the independent certifiers.
  3. To ensure that each emission reduction credit is only counted once, all emission reduction credits are stored in electronic format in publicly accessible project databases. Each climate project quality standard has its own database for this. goclimateaction maintains user accounts in the project databases of the Gold Standard Foundation and VERRA, in which the emission reduction credits required for your climate neutralization are closed. Certified Emissions Reductions (CERs) from climate protection projects that are certified according to the Clean Development Mechanism are verifiably retired by a TÜV-certified external partner. We confirm the retirements with the certificate in pdf-format, which we send to you by email.
  4. goclimateaction is a small organization with low transaction costs. This ensures that only a comparatively small part of your money has to be used for administration purposes. The prices for emission reduction certificates fluctuate greatly and are i.a. depending on the specific climate protection project, its quality standard and the time of purchase of the reduction credits. Basically, we orientate ourselves on the donation seal of the Foundation of the German Central Institute for Social Issues (DZI) where the advertising and administrative costs per € spent should not be more than a third of the contribution made. Without advertising and administration, however, even a climate protection initiative like ours cannot exist in the long term.
  5. goclimateaction is part of planetgood GmbH. The GmbH is kept in accordance with the GmbH accounting obligations in Germany. In addition, there is continuous cooperation with our tax consultancy Bremer & Lambrecht from Kaiserslautern tof ensure that our bookkeeping is carried out properly and that customer orders can be assigned an associated retirement of emission reduction credits in the aforementioned climate project registries. We retire the emission reduction certificates of the climate protection projects you support once a quarter in a bundled retirement action in order to keep the transaction costs as low as possible for you and us, so that more money can flow into the actual climate action.

Transparenz bei klimaneutral jetzt

Transparenz ist der Schlüssel zur Glaubwürdigkeit des CO2-Ausgleichs. Selbstverständlich bieten wir Dir volle Transparenz bei allen wichtigen Fragestellungen rund um Deine Klimaneutralität:

  1. Wir raten Dir, im ersten Schritt Emissionen im Alltag zu vermeiden, bevor du den Schritt des CO2-Ausgleichs wählst. Der Ausgleich Deiner Emissionen ist lediglich die zweitbeste Lösung für den Klimaschutz – die Vermeidung und die Reduktion von Treibhausgasen sind unverzichtbar und sollten dem Ausgleich stets vorgelagert sein. Wie Du Emissionen vermeiden und reduzieren kannst erfährst Du hier.
  2. Du erhältst alle Detailinformationen zu den Klimaschutzprojekten, welche Du zum Zwecke Deines CO2-Ausgleichs unterstützt. Dies beinhaltet u.a. Angaben zum Qualitätsstandard und den Zugang zur detaillierten Projektbeschreibung (Project Design Document) und den jährlichen Prüfberichten der unabhängigen Zertifizierer.
  3. Um sicherzustellen, dass jede Emissionsminderungsgutschrift nur einmal gezählt wird, liegen alle Emissionsminderungsgutschriften in elektronischem Format in öffentlich einsehbaren Projekt-Datenbanken. Jeder Klimaprojekt-Qualitätsstandard hat hierfür seine eigene Datenbank. klimaneutral jetzt führt Nutzerkonten in den Projektdatenbanken der Gold Standard Foundation und von VERRA, in welchem die für Deine Klimaneutralstellung benötigten Emissionsminderungsgutschriften stillgelegt werden. Certified Emissions Reductions (CERs) aus Klimaschutzprojekten, welche nach dem Clean Development Mechanism zertifiziert sind, werden durch einen TÜV-zertifizierten externen Partner nachweislich stillgelegt. Die Stilllegungen bestätigen wir Dir mit der Urkunde in pdf-Format, welche wir Dir per email zustellen.
  4. klimaneutral jetzt ist eine kleine Organisation mit geringen Transaktionskosten. Hierdurch wird sichergestellt, dass nur ein vergleichsweise kleiner Teil Deines Geldes für Administrationszwecke genutzt werden muss. Die Preise für Emissionsminderungszertifikate schwanken stark und sind u.a. abhängig vom jeweiligen spezifischen Klimaschutzprojekt, dessen Qualitätsstandard und vom Zeitpunkt des Kaufs der Minderungsgutschriften. Grundsätzlich orientieren wir uns am Spendensiegel der Stiftung Deutsches Zentralinstitut für soziale Fragen (DZI), bei welchem die Werbungs- und Verwaltungskosten pro ausgegebenem € bei nicht mehr als einem Drittel des geleisteten Beitrages liegen sollte. Ohne Werbung und Verwaltung kann jedoch auch eine Klimaschutzinitiative wie die unsrige nicht langfristig existieren.
  5. klimaneutral jetzt ist Teil der planetgood GmbH. Diese wird gemäß der GmbH-Buchführungspflicht geführt. Zudem stellt die kontinuierliche Kooperation mit unserer Steuerberatung Bremer & Lambrecht aus Kaiserslautern sicher, dass unsere Buchhaltung einwandfrei geführt wird und Kundenbestellung eine zugehörige Stilllegung von Emissionsminderungsgutschriften in den bereits genannten Klimaprojekt-registries zugeordnet werden kann. Wir legen die Emissionsminderungszertifikate der von euch unterstützten Klimaschutzprojekte einmal pro Quartal in einer Sammelstilllegung still, um die Transkationskosten für euch und uns so gering wie möglich zu halten, damit mehr Geld in den Klimaschutz fließen kann.