How does the pricing for CO2-reduction credits work?

The prices for CO2-reduction credits differ. The pricing is based on the following criteria:

  • Quality standard: Climate protection projects according to the Gold Standard are usually more costly than projects under the Verified Carbon Standard. This is mainly due to the fact that in addition to the CO2-reduction achieved by these projects, social criteria still have to be checked by the external project certifiers.
  • Project size: A large wind farm saves significantly more COat significantly lower monitoring costs per ton than a project in which 2,000 family biogas plants are built and maintained. This has a corresponding effect on the price of the reduction credits.
  • Project type and location: With certain project types (e.g. reforestation, efficient cooking stoves) there is comparatively more demand and a correspondingly lower available supply of reduction credits. This leads to higher prices. The same applies to project locations - here too the market prices differ with the geography of a climate protection project (e.g. African projects are higher in price than comparable projects in China).
  • Amount of emission reduction credits purchased: Volume discounts are also available in the market for emission reduction credits. These discounts have to be justified economically: the higher the purchase quantity, the lower the relative transaction costs. This reduces the transaction costs per ton of savings CO2, which lowers the price for the credits for higher purchase quantities.

Wie bildet sich der Preis bei CO2-Minderungsgutschriften?

Die Preise für CO2-Minderungsgutschriften unterscheiden sich. Die Preisbildung orientiert sich dabei an den folgenden Kriterien:

  • Qualitätsstandard: Klimaschutzprojekte gemäß Gold Standard sind i.d.R. kostenintensiver als Projekte unter dem Verified Carbon Standard. Dies liegt vor allem daran, dass bei Gold Standard Projekten zusätzlich zur CO2-Reduktion noch soziale Kriterien von den externen Projektzertifizierern geprüft werden müssen.
  • Projektgröße: Ein großer Windpark spart im Vergleich zu einer einem Projekt, in welchem 2.000 Familien-Biogasanlagen gebaut und erhalten werden, wesentlich mehr COzu wesentlich geringeren Monitoring-Kosten pro Tonne ein. Dies wirkt sich entsprechend auf den Preis der Minderungsgutschriften aus.
  • Projekttyp und -standort: Bei bestimmten Projekttypen (z.B. Wiederaufforstung, effiziente Kochöfen) gibt es vergleichsweise mehr Nachfrage und ein dementsprechend geringeres verfügbares Angebot an Minderungsgutschriften. Dies führt zu höheren Preisen. Gleiches gilt für Projektstandorte – auch hier preist der Markt die Geographie eines Klimaschutzprojektes mit ein (z.B. sind afrikanische Projekte im Preis höher als vergleichbare Projekte in China).
  • Menge der gekauften Emissionsminderungsgutschriften: Mengenrabatte gibt es auch im Markt für Emissionsminderungsgutschriften. Diese Rabatte sind ökonomisch zu begründen, da mit steigender Abnahmemenge beim Kauf die Transaktionskosten des Kaufs auf eine größere Menge Emissionsminderungen umgelegt werden können. Damit sinken die Transaktionskosten pro Tonne eingespartem CO2, was den Preis für die Gutschriften bei höherer Abnahmemenge sinken lässt.