The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals


In addition to avoiding CO2-emissions, our carbon reduction projects have numerous additional positive effects for people and the environment.

  • E.g. our forest protection projects not only contribute to the CO2-reduction, but they also help to ensure the water supply for the local people and to protect the habitat and rare animals.
  • Our renewable energy projects avoid CO2 and create jobs at the same time.
  • Finally, our social+ projects, such as the use of efficient cookstoves in developing countries also ensure that the local air quality improves and that in particular local women gain time for higher-quality activities than collecting wood.

CO2-financing and social added value

Our carbon reduction projects are always development projects that contribute to achieving the global development goals (Sustainable Development Goals) defined by the United Nations. Climate action and development work are inextricably linked in climate protection. While the social benefits provide additional benefits to a climate protection project and are often the actual reason for the project implementation on site, the income from the sale of the project's emission reductions provides the financial basis for the implementation of the project.

The 17 goals of the United Nations - the framework for determining the social added value of our climate protection projects

When describing the so-called social co-benefits of our climate protection projects, we are guided by the framework of the 17 sustainability goals specified by the United Nations:

No poverty is a 2015 United Nations Sustainable Development Goal. No poverty: The economic advantages that can result from climate protection projects are diverse. Our projects help to stimulate regional economic cycles and reduce poverty.
No hunger is a 2015 United Nations Sustainable Development Goal. No hunger: Forestry and agriculture play an important role in global security of supply. Our climate protection projects accelerate, among other things, the introduction of sustainable management methods in agriculture and forestry, whereby yields can be optimized.
Health is a United Nations Sustainable Development Goal from 2015.

Health and wellbeing: Many of our climate protection projects contribute to the health of people in the project regions through the provision of clean drinking water or contributions to improving local air quality.


Education and training is a 2015 United Nations Sustainable Development Goal.

Quality education: Lots of our climate protection projects strengthen the educational opportunities at the project location. Direct support for schools through donations in money or in kind is also an integral part of many projects.

Equality among the sexes is a 2015 United Nations Sustainable Development Goal.

Gender equality: Collecting firewood and boiling water are time-consuming activities that are mainly done by women in many regions of the world. The introduction of efficient cookstoves or the distribution of water filters for water treatment allows, above all, especially women to invest more time in productive activities or in their own further training.

Clean water is a 2015 United Nations sustainability goal.

Clean water and sanitation: Many of our climate protection projects have positive effects on regional water cycles. Our forest protection projects help e.g. while avoiding the silting up of water sources. Other projects facilitate access to clean drinking water.

Clean energy is a 2015 United Nations Sustainable Development Goal.

Affordable and Clean Energy: The gap between supply and demand for available energy is widening in many emerging and developing countries. Renewable forms of energy help to close this gap in a sustainable way and to improve the living conditions of many people.

Safe working conditions is a 2015 United Nations sustainability goal.

Decent work and economic growth: The development of climate protection projects creates new jobs - for example in the construction and operation of new energy systems. For the people in the project regions with high unemployment, these employment opportunities offer an important source of income.

Industry, innovation and infrastructure is a 2015 United Nations sustainability goal.

Industry, innovation and infrastructure: Financial support from the income from the CO2-reduction enables the implementation of innovative projects that could not be financed in any other way. Many projects lead to the expansion of regional transport routes and supply structures.

Reduced inequality is a 2015 United Nations sustainability goal.

Reduced inequalities: Inequality is one of the major obstacles to political stability. Many of our climate protection projects promote development in the poorest regions of the world and help prevent the economic divide between rich and poor from deepening.

Sustainable cities and communities is a 2015 United Nations Sustainability Goal.

Sustainable cities and communities: By developing new supply and development solutions, our climate protection projects can help defuse potential conflicts and improve coexistence in urban areas.

Responsible consumption and production is a 2015 United Nations sustainability goal.

Responsible consumption and production: Many of our climate protection projects promote the development of sustainable economic and production cycles in the respective project areas.

Climate protection is one of the United Nations' 2015 sustainability goals.

Climate action: Protecting the climate is one of the most important challenges of the 21st century and is the central goal of all of goclimateaction climate protection projects.

Clean seas is a 2015 United Nations Sustainable Development Goal.

Life below water: By building sanitary and water treatment systems, our climate protection projects help keep water resources clean and thus protect the maritime habitat.

Protection of all living beings is a 2015 United Nations sustainability goal.

Life on land: In addition to reducing emissions, many of our climate protection projects also help to reduce the amount of pollutants entering the environment. Protecting forests also makes an active contribution to maintaining biodiversity.

Peace, justice and strong institutions is a 2015 United Nations Sustainable Development Goal.

Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions: A lack of development prospects promotes strife and corruption. The support of economic development through our climate protection projects can therefore also facilitate the development of constitutional structures in the project countries.

Partnerships for goal attainment is a 2015 sustainability goal of the United Nations.

Partnerships for the goals: In order to successfully implement the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, state, private, and civil society engagement must come together. With the support of our climate protection projects, you can make an important contribution to this.

Die Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen

Neben der Vermeidung von CO2-Emissionen haben die Klimaschutzprojekte von klimaneutral jetzt! zahlreiche zusätzliche positive Effekte für Mensch und Umwelt.

  • So tragen z.B. unsere Waldschutzprojekte nicht nur dazu bei, der Atmosphäre CO2 zu entziehen, sondern sie helfen auch dabei, die Wasserversorgung für die Menschen vor Ort zu gewährleisten und den Lebensraum seltener Tiere zu schützen.
  • Unsere Projekte im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energien vermeiden CO2-Emissionen und schaffen dabei gleichzeitig Arbeitsplätze.
  • Zuletzt vermindern unsere Sozial+-Projekte, wie z.B. der Einsatz von effizienten Kochöfen in Entwicklungsländern, nicht nur den lokalen CO2-Ausstoß, sondern sie sorgen auch dafür, dass sich die lokale Luftqualität verbessert und besonders die Frauen vor Ort Zeit für höherwertige Tätigkeiten gewinnen. 

CO2-Finanzierung und sozialer Mehrwert

Unsere Klimaschutzprojekte sind damit immer auch Entwicklungsprojekte, die zum Erreichen der von den Vereinten Nationen definierten globalen Entwicklungsziele (Sustainable Development Goals) beitragen. Klimaschutz und Entwicklungsarbeit sind beim Klimaschutz untrennbar miteinander verbunden. Während die sozialen Vorteile einem Klimaschutzprojekt zusätzliche Vorteile verschaffen und oft der eigentliche Grund für die Projektumsetzung vor Ort sind, liefern die Einnahmen aus dem Verkauf der Emissionsminderungen des Projektes die finanzielle Grundlage zur Implementierung des Projektes.

Die 17 Ziele der Vereinten Nationen - der Rahmen zur Bestimmung des sozialen Mehrwerts unserer Klimaschutzprojekte

Bei der Beschreibung der sog. sozialen Co-Benefits unserer Klimaschutzprojekten orientieren wir uns am von den Vereinten Nationen vorgegebenen Rahmen der 17 Nachhaltigkeitsziele: 

Keine Armut ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015. Keine Armut: Die wirtschaftlichen Vorteile, die sich aus Klimaschutzprojekten ergeben können, sind vielfältig. Unsere Projekte helfen dabei, die regionalen Wirtschaftskreisläufe anzukurbeln und Armut zu mindern.
Kein Hunger ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015. Kein Hunger: Die Forst- und Landwirtschaft spielen eine wichtige Rolle für die globale Versorgungssicherheit. Unsere Klimaschutzprojekte beschleunigen u.a. die Einführung nachhaltiger Bewirtschaftungsmethoden in der Land- und Forstwirtschaft, wodurch Erträge optimiert werden können.
Gesundheit ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Gesundheit und Wohlergehen: U.a. durch die Bereitstellung von sauberem Trinkwasser oder Beiträge zur Verbesserung der lokalen Luftqualität tragen viele unserer Klimaschutzprojekte zur Gesundheit der Menschen in den Projektregionen bei. Z.B. wird dabei Atemwegserkrankungen vorgebeugt.

Bildung und Ausbildung ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Hochwertige Bildung: Viele unserer Klimaschutzprojekte stärken die Bildungsangebote am Projektstandort. Auch die direkte Unterstützung von Schulen durch Geld- oder Sachspenden ist bei vielen Projekten fester Bestandteil.

Gleichheit unter den Geschlechtern ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Gleichheit der Geschlechter: Feuerholzsammeln sowie das Abkochen von Wasser sind zeitintensive Tätigkeiten, die in vielen Regionen der Erde vornehmlich von Frauen erledigt werden. Durch z.B. die Einführung effizienter Kochöfen oder die Ausgabe von Wasserfiltern zur Wasseraufbereitung können vor allem Frauen mehr Zeit in produktive Tätigkeiten oder in die eigene Weiterbildung investieren.

Sauberes Wasser ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Sauberes Wasser und Sanitäreinrichtungen: Viele unserer Klimaschutzprojekte haben positive Auswirkungen regionale Wasserkreisläufe. Unsere Waldschutzprojekte helfen z.B. dabei, die Versandung von Wasserquellen zu vermeiden. Andere unserer Projekte erleichtern den Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser.

Saubere Energie ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Bezahlbare und saubere Energie:  Die Schere zwischen Angebot und Nachfrage nach verfügbarer Energie klafft in vielen Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern immer weiter auseinander. Regenerative Energieformen tragen dazu bei, diese Lücke auf nachhaltige Weise zu schließen und die Lebensumstände  vieler Menschen zu verbessern.

Sichere Arbeitsbedingungen ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum: Durch die Entwicklung von Klimaschutzprojekten entstehen neue Arbeitsplätze – beispielsweise beim Bau und Betrieb neuer Energieanlagen. Für die Menschen in den Projektregionen mit hoher Arbeitslosigkeit bieten diese Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten eine wichtige Einkommensquelle.

Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur: Die finanzielle Unterstützung durch die Einnahmen aus dem CO2-Ausgleich ermöglicht die Umsetzung innovativer Projekte, die auf anderem Wege nicht finanzierbar wären. Viele Projekte führen dabei zum Ausbau regionaler Verkehrswege und Versorgungsstrukturen.

Verminderte Ungleichheit ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Weniger Ungleichheiten: Ungleichheit gehört zu den größten Hindernissen für politische Stabilität. Zahlreiche unserer Klimaschutzprojekte fördern die Entwicklung in den ärmsten Regionen der Welt und tragen dazu bei, dass sich wirtschaftliche Gräben zwischen Arm und Reich nicht weiter vertiefen.

Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinschaften ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden: Durch die Entwicklung neuer Versorgungs- und Entwicklungslösungen können unsere Klimaschutzprojekte dazu beitragen, potenzielle Konflikte zu entschärfen und das Zusammenleben im städtischen Umfeld zu verbessern.

Verantwortlicher Konsum und Produktion ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Nachhaltiger Konsum und Produktion: Viele unserer Klimaschutzprojekte fördern den Aufbau nachhaltiger Wirtschafts- und Produktionskreisläufe in den jeweiligen Projektgebieten.  

Klimaschutz ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Klimaschutz: Der Schutz des Klimas gehört zu den wichtigsten Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts und ist das zentrale Ziel aller von klimaneutral jetzt! unterstützten Klimaschutzprojekte.

Saubere Meere ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Leben unter Wasser: U.a. durch den Bau von Sanitär- und Wasseraufbereitungsanlagen tragen unsere Klimaschutzprojekte dazu bei, Wasserressourcen sauber zu erhalten und damit den maritimen Lebensraum zu schützen.

Schutz aller Lebewesen ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Leben an Land: Neben der Reduzierung von Emissionen tragen viele unser Klimaschutzprojekte dazu bei, den Schadstoffeintrag in die Umwelt zu vermindern. Durch den Schutz von Urwäldern wird zudem ein aktiver Beitrag zum Erhalt der Biodiversität geleistet.

Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen: Mangelnde Entwicklungsperspektiven befördern Unfrieden und Korruption. Die Unterstützung wirtschaftlicher Entwicklung durch unsere Klimaschutzprojekte kann daher auch die Ausprägung rechtsstaatlicher Strukturen in den Projektländern erleichtern.

Partnerschaften zur Zielerreichung ist ein Nachhaltigkeitsziel der Vereinten Nationen von 2015.

Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele: Um die Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen erfolgreich umsetzen zu können, müssen staatliches, privatwirtschaftliches und zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement zusammenkommen. Mit der Unterstützung unserer Klimaschutzprojekte kannst Du einen wichtigen Beitrag hierzu leisten.